top of page
  • Writer's pictureNomfundo

The Working Girl's One Bowl Brownies


I don’t know about you guys but by Wednesday afternoon I hit a slump in energy. In between being stuck in Gauteng traffic, being at work for nine hours a day, working on a master’s thesis ,trying to fit in exercise somewhere in between and practicing self care I am all adult-ed out midweek. Ok relax before you think I’m super woman, I do not do all those things every single day, work and traffic? Yes, every day. Exercise, school and self care? Uhhh definitely not enough but I would give myself an ‘A' for effort *Kanye shrug*. The point is we all need some comfort or rather, encouragement mid-week just to say “you go girl! Two more days and it’s the weekend baby!”. And that “adda girl" for me always comes in the form of what I call , “The Working Girls One Bowl Brownies”. I adore this recipe because I love chocolate and honestly in the midst of a busy week who wants to be stuck washing tons of dishes after baking? Definitely not me. This recipe is delicious, easy and fool proof. Give it a go and Enjoy!


Xxx


The Baking Dietitian


Prep Time: 5 minutes

Cook Time: 20 minutes

Total Time: 25 minutes

Servings: 16


Ingredients

• 1/2 cup melted butter

• ½ cup unsweetened cocoa

• 1 ¼ cup sugar

• 2 large eggs

• 1 teaspoon vanilla

• 1/2 cup flour

• ¼ tsp salt

• ½ cup chocolate chips


Instructions

1. Preheat oven to 180°C. Grease a 20cm by square pan or line with grease proof paper and set aside.

2. In a medium bowl combine melted butter and cocoa and sugar stir until fully dissolved.

3. Add eggs one at a time then vanilla and stir until well combined.

4. Stir in flour and salt until the flour is fully combine. Be careful not to overmix mix.

5. (optional) fold in ½ cup of chocolate chips or anything you desire.

6. Spread in pan and bake for approximately 20-22 minutes or until the centre is slightly set. Be careful not to over-bake!

7. Cool completely then cut into 9 large squares or 16 small squares ( I cut mine into 16 to extend the yumminess)

8. Enjoy!

Serving suggestion: These brownies go well with vanilla ice cream and blueberries or strawberries


Did you know?

● Cocoa comes from a fruit tree; it’s made from a seed/ bean. So I’m thinking that means by eating chocolate I'm basically having a fruit salad, right? Jokes!

● Theobroma Cacao is the tree that produces cocoa beans, which means “food of the gods", which explains why chocolate is so heavenly!

● Studies have shown that chocolate on of the major saturated fats (bad fats) found in chocolate does not elevate cholesterol like other hard fats meaning chocolate can be enjoyed as part of a healthy diet.





24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page