top of page
  • Writer's pictureNomfundo

Order Up!



So your girl got a cake order! It is I, I am your girl!


On a daily basis I live out my dream life in my imagination. It is always sunny in my dream life , approximately 28°C with a few clouds and it rains only when I'm home indoors just for control (the grass and flowers need to be watered of course). I wake up daily at 7am, unencumbered by the traumatic siren that is my alarm clock. I go to the gym four times a week for an intense one hour gym session. After gym I shower and then get into my dressing gown, prepare a delicious cappuccino and a simple nutritious breakfast and I take some time on the couch to meditate and get my mind, body and soul right for the day.


There after I get dressed in a cute outfit because when you look cute, you feel cute and when you feel cute you do cute, yes? Yes! Ok so now we look cute and now we can make our way to the home office. This home office is every girl’s dream, the walls are an eggshell bluish green which is a healing colour, I have a trestle blue glass opaque desk, a fluffy white carpet and the most comfortable office chair, I also have an ‘L' shape counter on the one corner of the room because my office also doubles as a studio where I decorate my cakes. All is well here, there is peace and it is void of chaos. I get on my laptop and I plan my day and I get my bake on.


So you may be wondering why the heck I just took you down that rabbit hole and some of you may think what an underwhelming dream. But this dream is why I am so excited to get my first cake order. This cake is literally a confirmation, a tiny step towards the direction I have been wanting my life to go in.


I’ve dreamed of this moment and finally it is here. Yes it is one order but this says to me, “your dreams are valid, keep dreaming them, keep speaking them, they are on their way to you". I’m excited. I also understand that one cake order does not make me an overnight success but I’m happy nonetheless.

I had so many ideas for this cake but honestly there are not enough hours in a day to make every thing at once.


My first client asked that I make a blue, white and gold baby shower cake. She asked that I incorporate some ombré, a bit of the naked cake style which I adore and baby shower décor. For the sponge we went for vanilla with a yummy vanilla butter cream icing. Making this cake was harder than I thought and I admit there is a lot of room for improvement but wow I had the time of my life doing it.

I am so grateful for this opportunity and I hope this is the start of something beautiful.


Yours in Cake


Xxx


The Baking Dietitian







20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page